The Story Behind the Story

Gabby photo1 by ArdMy Next Generation Radio experience has been a roller coaster to say the least. I started off Monday morning with a story about a drug dealer who uses his drug money to pay for his education. By the end of the day I was scrambling for a story desperate for any lead, because as you may guess, drug dealers tend to be elusive.

Tuesday morning my colleague Natalie Van Hoozer was nice enough to give me her back up story idea for a woman who teaches toddlers to rock climb. As everyone was finishing transcribing their interviews I was running out to get my own interview done. Somehow, by Wednesday night I was almost caught up and by Thursday evening I was on par with everyone else. Now it’s Friday and I’m on top of the world!

Aiden, 3, surpasses his fears and climbs further up the wall in search for the toy cars hidden at the top.

Aiden, 3, surpasses his fears and climbs further up the wall in search for the toy cars hidden at the top.

I am so grateful for this experience. In these five short days I have learned more than I have in the past two years. Don’t get me wrong, I have loved my experience in the Reynold’s School of Journalism, but this was the first time I got one-on-one time with a professional along every step of the story process.

Michelle Billman was an amazing mentor. She was there for me when all my stories fell through and when I desperately needed some support. She showed me all of her wisdom throughout the interview process, which has been my biggest hurdle over the past six years as a student journalist. She also taught me some neat tips and tricks for sound editing. I feel like my last year here at UNR will be so much easier because of her. Honestly, if, or rather when, I give an acceptance speech she’ll be on my thank you list.

Doug Mitchell and Traci Tong were always helpful and there for us when we needed them. I I could go on and on and name everyone because in reality everyone, the mentors, the helping hands, the editors, and the students, was incredibly helpful and nice. However, I’ll keep it short.

To any future students: Apply for Next Generation Radio. Just do it.

Leave a Reply

